Heal Your Chakras With These Foods

by Mradula Mahajan
Published on In FitnessLeave a Comment

Ayurveda believes that eating food to support individual chakras is important. Chakras are rechargeable energy centers in our body that work together to regulate the flow of energy. There are seven chakras in our body controlling emotional and physical elements and they get affected by the kind of food we eat.

The word ‘chakra’ is the Sanskrit word for “wheel” or “circle.” When chakras are actively operating in the right manner, they make an individual feel nourished and energized.

The Chakras and Food

The Root Chakra (Muladhara Chakra)

Associated with the color red, this energy center represents survival instincts. It is the base energy center, grounding us to the earth. Located at the base of the spine, it links energy in our legs, feet, bones, large intestine, and adrenal glands. It is suggested to follow a protein-rich diet.

Imbalance Causes – Paranoia and fear.
Suggested Food – Carrots, Turnips, Radishes, Beets, Onion, Meat, Eggs.

The Sacral Chakra or Navel Chakra (Svhadhisthana Chakra)

Connected with the color orange, this energy center signifies pleasure and governs our sexuality, passion, and commitment. Located between the base of your spine and your navel, it regulates the lower abdomen, kidneys, bladder, circulatory system, and reproductive organs and glands. High water content food can balance this chakra.

Imbalance Causes – Emotional problems and sexual guilt.
Suggested Food – Oranges, Honey, Almonds, Pumpkin Seeds, Yams, Coconut.

The Solar Chakra or The Solar Plexus (Manipura Chakra)

This energy center is all about power. Denoted by yellow color, it regulates our emotional life.
It is concerned with our digestive system, muscles, pancreas, and adrenals. It converts energy into action so easily digestible food should be eaten.

Imbalance Causes – Anger and frustration.
Suggested Food – Turmeric, Fennel, Sunflower Seeds, Oats, Yogurt, Cheese.

The Heart Chakra (Anahata Chakra)

The “House of the Soul” chakra is concerned with the feeling of love and is represented by the color green.
It moves energy through our lungs, heart, arms, hands, and thymus gland. It is recommended to eat food that keeps our blood and heart healthy.

Imbalance Causes – Lack of compassion and lung or heart problems.
Suggested Food – Spinach, Kale, Broccoli, Cauliflower, Cabbage, Green Tea.

The Throat Chakra (Vishuddha Chakra)

Represented by blue or turquoise, it is home to our voice and is associated with the feeling of joy and communication. It connects energy across neck, shoulders, arms, hands, thyroid, and parathyroid glands. Food that benefits our throat and lungs, should be eaten.

Imbalance Causes – Creative block and dishonesty.
Suggested Food – Water, Grapes, Berries, Limes, Kiwi, Apples, Herbal Teas.

The Brow Chakra or The Third Eye (Ajna Chakra)

The center of our inner vision and intuition is represented by indigo. It helps in generating perception about life and knowing the surroundings. It is located at the center of our forehead. Food that contains healthy fats will help calm the third eye chakra.

Imbalance Causes – Lack of foresight and depression.
Suggested Food – Eyebright, Juniper, Lavender, Red Wine, Grape Juice.

The Crown (Sahasrara Chakra)

The violet and white color center represent the spirit of our mind and body. It helps in the flow of the energy through our cerebral cortex, central nervous system, and pituitary gland. Since the chakra regulates our spirit, spending time in nature will help.

Imbalance Causes – Psychological problems.
Suggested Food – Gotu Kola, Lotus, Myrrh, Frankincense, Copal.


heal your chakras meditation food

By following a healthy diet plan, you can keep your chakras stabilized. Balanced chakras help in the sustainable and harmonious flow of energy in our body. The under-active or blocked chakras can often lead to illness and the food suggested here for each chakra should always be included in your diet to stay healthy and happy.


Leave a Comment