Simple Ways to Give Your Chakras a Spring Cleaning

by Allayurveda
Published on In HealthLeave a Comment

Quick Intro to the Chakras

Simply put, a chakra is a “wheel” – a whirling vortex of energy. There are thousands of chakras in your body but we will focus on the seven major ones. As you can see in the image above, the seven chakras are stacked in your body, beginning at the base of your spine and traveling up to the very top of your head.

The seven chakras

1. First chakra = Root/Base chakra (Muladhara, meaning root or support)

2. Second chakra = Sacral chakra (Svadhisthana, or “sweetness”)

3. Third chakra = Solar Plexus chakra (Manipura or lustrous gem)

4. Fourth chakra = Heart chakra (Anahata or “unstruck”)

5. Fifth chakra = Throat chakra (Vishudha or “purification”)

6. Sixth chakra = Third Eye chakra (Ajna or to perceive, to know)

7. Seventh chakra = Crown chakra (Sahasrara, or “Thousandfold”)

All the spiritual practices we follow seek to balance the spirit with the body and the universe – to ground us by attuning ourselves to a higher frequency realm. In this article, we will show you this energy work to use the 7 chakras to attract the best that the Universe has to offer. We will do this by first looking at the symptoms that manifest in the event of a chakra blockage. Then, we will move on to affirmations, chakra meditation, color therapy, aromatherapy, stones and chakra stones.

Root/Base chakra

Physical symptoms of an imbalanced root chakra: Lower back pain, sciatica, varicose veins, constipation, diarrhea, rectal/anal problems, impotence, water retention, and problems with the lower part of the body in general

Psychological symptoms of an imbalanced root chakra: Loneliness, insecurities, feeling “off”, lacking confidence, abandonment issues, indecisiveness, depression, anxiety, addictions, phobias and obsessions

Healing the root chakra

Gemstone: Garnet, onyx, hematite, black obsidian and red jasper

Color therapy: Red, black

Essential oils: Foot massage with nutmeg, patchouli or bergamot

Sacral chakra

Physical symptoms of an imbalanced sacral chakra: Kidney problems and urinary tract infections, chronic lower back pain, sexual disorders, infertility, gynecological problems, and problems with the intestines, spleen and gallbladder

Psychological symptoms of an imbalanced sacral chakra: Eating disorders, addictions, low self-esteem, dependency issues, low libido and emotional disturbances

Healing the sacral chakra

Gemstone: Blue-green turquoise, carnelian and orange zincite

Color therapy: Orange, blue-green

Essential oils: Lower back massage with neroli, sweet orange or sandalwood

Solar Plexus chakra

Physical symptoms of an imbalanced solar plexus chakra: Digestive and intestinal disorders, food allergies, eating disorders, poor metabolism, diabetes, obesity and skin conditions.

Psychological symptoms of an imbalanced solar plexus chakra: Weak memory and concentration, bouts of fear, feeling ungrounded, sugar addiction, insomnia and eating disorders

Healing the solar plexus chakra

Gemstone: Yellow jasper, golden calcite, citrine and yellow sapphire

Color therapy: Yellow

Essential oils: Tummy massage with eucalyptus, juniper berry or grapefruit

Heart chakra

Physical symptoms of an imbalanced heart chakra: Pneumonia, asthma, breast problems, respiratory problems, upper-back pain, shoulder and upper-arm pain, and premature aging

Psychological symptoms of an imbalanced heart chakra: apathy, faithlessness, unforgiving, hopelessness, distrust, commitment issues and detachment

Healing the heart chakra

Gemstone: Jade, malachite, rose quartz, green tourmaline

Color therapy: Pink, green

Essential oils: Massage the breast bone or middle-back area with lavender, palmarosa or sweet marjoram

Throat chakra

Physical symptoms of an imbalanced throat chakra: Problems with the nasal area, irritated sinuses, sore throat, jaw pain and TMJ, voice loss, thyroid problems, teeth and gum problems, and ailments of the esophagus and tonsils

Psychological symptoms of an imbalanced throat chakra: Nervousness, anxiety, fear, attention deficit disorders, poor coping skills and feeling isolated

Healing the throat chakra

Gemstone: Angelite, blue turquoise, blue lace agate, blue kyanite

Color therapy: Aqua, turquoise

Essential oils: Body spray applied to chest and neck areas with vanilla, Roman chamomile or coriander seed

Third Eye chakra

Physical symptoms of an imbalanced third eye chakra: Eye problems, glaucoma, ear problems and hearing difficulties, spinal conditions, and scalp/hair issues

Psychological symptoms of an imbalanced third eye chakra: Headaches and migraines, nightmares, seizures, neurological disorders, personality disorders and neuroses, learning difficulties and hallucinations

Healing the third eye chakra

Gemstone: Lapiz lazuli, azurite and sugilite

Color therapy: Indigo, dark blue

Essential oils: Anoint the forehead with rosemary, German chamomile, frankincense or sandalwood

Crown chakra

Physical symptoms of an imbalanced crown chakra: Light sensitivity, headaches, dementia, autoimmune disorders, neurological disorders – The crown chakra affects our brains and so it disrupts our complete mental, physical, and spiritual health

Psychological symptoms of an imbalanced crown chakra: Depression, confusion, loss of faith, mentally disconnected, dementia, epilepsy and schizophrenia

Healing the crown chakra

Gemstone: Amethyst, white calcite and white topaz

Color therapy: Violet, golden-white

Essential oils: Room diffusion with lavandin, frankincense or neroli

Chakra Meditation

Click on the image below to taken to a page where you will learn chakra unblocking by opening up each of your chakras with affirmations and white light.

White Light Meditation


Leave a Comment