Ten Fold Examination Process

Ten (Dash) fold (Bidha) Examination (Pariksha)

Related to the patient.

Covers body constitution, pathological state, tissue vitality, physical build, body measurement, adaptability, psychic constitution, capacities for digestion & exercise and age.

    1. Body Constitution (prakriti) :
      Determined by relative predominance of doshas during foetal development the prakriti can be any of vatika, paittika, kaphaja, vata paittika, vata kaphaja, pitta kaphaja or samdoshaja.

    2. Pathological State (vikruti) :
      Related to the biological history of the diseases in its entirety, it enables physicians to consider the signs & symptoms of the disease in order to assess the strength of the disease, the causes, the doshas, the affected body elements, body constitution, time and strength of an individual.

    3. Tissue Vitality (sara) :
      Broadly speaking, there are seven vital tissues, namely lymph (rasa), blood (rakta), muscle (mamsa), adipose (meda), bone (asthi), bone marrow (majja) and reproductive tissue (sukra).
      Lymph in the skin is assessed by its smoothness, softness, clearness, thinness and whether the skin is covered with short, deep rooted and delicate hair.
      Percentage of blood in body is evaluated from the condition of the eyes, mouth, tongue, lips, nails and soles of the feet.
      When muscles are in perfect condition, the temples, forehead, nape of the neck, shoulders, belly, arms, chest, joints of the body, jaws and cheeks are covered firmly with the skin.
      People with healthy adipose tissue have oily skin and healthy hair, nails, voice and teeth.
      The health of bones is determined by pliable but firm forearms, chin, nails, teeth, ankles, knees and other joints of the body.
      Healthy bone marrow leads to good complexion and stout, long, round & stable joints.
      Those in whom the semen is perfectly healthy, are strong and cheerful.

  1. Physical Build (samhanana) :
    Body examination is carried out by direct perception – a healthy body being well- built with symmetrical bones, strong & stable joints and enough flesh & blood.

  2. Body Measurement (pramana) :
    In Ayurveda, body measurement is given in terms of finger breadth and any person in close proximity to the ideal measurements is termed as normal and healthy.

  3. Adaptibility (satmya) :
    Indicating substances intrinsic to the body, it refers to two types of people – those that are strong, adjust easily to difficulties and have excellent digestive capacity and those that are generally weak, intolerant to change and can have only few food options.

  4. Psychic Constitution (satwa) :
    Refers to the mind which controls the body in contact with the soul (atma). Depending on degree of mental strength, it is considered to be high, moderate or low. To know more about your body type, click here.

  5. Digestive Capacity (ahara sakti) :
    This has to be judged from the individual’s capacity to ingest and digest food substances.

  6. Capacity for Exercise (vyayama shakti) :
    Assessed by capacity for hard work, it is either low, moderate or high.

  7. Age (vaya) :
    Broadly categorised into childhood, middle age and old age, it provides vital clues for the diagnosis & treatment and is a must consideration in clinical examinations.

Diagnosis in AyurvedaDiagnosis Process

Three Fold Examination | Eight Fold Examination | Ten Fold Examination