Three Fold Examination Process

To confirm, evaluate and treat a disease, physicians need to perform clinical examinations of patients – wherein textual knowledge (aptopadesa), direct perception (pratyaksha) and inference (anumana) are all very important components. The examination of patients can be carried out in the following manners:

Three (Tri) fold (Bidha) Examination (Pariksha)

Covers a general examination of the patient.


  1. Visual observation (Darshan)

  2. Tactile perception (Sparsha)

  3. Questioning (Prashna)

Diagnosis in AyurvedaDiagnosis Process

Three Fold Examination | Eight Fold Examination | Ten Fold Examination